The Local Organising Committee for this year's annual meeting of the Ecological Society of Australia would like to welcome you to our conference website. We hope that you will join us in Sydney this year for what promises to be an exciting conference. As well as the usual open sessions, we have a diverse range of topical symposia, a stimulating line-up of plenary speakers: Jane Lubchenco, Joel Brown, John Bruno, Meg Lowman and Rick Shine; and - for the first time at an ESA conference - "speed sessions", workshops and a fully carbon-neutral conference.

We also have a great range of options in the social program, ranging from mid-week day trips to wild and scenic National Parks of the Sydney region hosted by local experts, social events in the atmostpheric sandstone venues of the University of Sydney and a huge range of restaurant and evening options in the lively surrounding suburbs of Glebe and Newtown.

We hope that you will join us, and we look forward to seeing you all... next month!

Clare Mc Arthur

On behalf of the Sydney 2008 LOC

Key dates

Call for Papers & Posters - open
Registration - open
Abstracts due - September 30
Early Bird Registration closes - September 30
Accepted Authors notified - October 15
Final Abstracts due - October 31
Final program available - October 31

Who's on the Local Organising Committee?

Clare McArthur (University of Sydney) - chair Dieter Hochuli (University of Sydney) - deputy chair

Ross Coleman (University of Sydney)

Chris Dickman (University of Sydney)

Graeme Hastwell (University of Western Sydney)

David Keith (NSW Department of Environment & Climate Change)

Dan Lunney (NSW Department of Environment & Climate Change)

Alistair Poore (University of New South Wales)

Liz Tasker (NSW Department of Environment & Climate Change)

Charlotte Taylor (University of Sydney)

Melanie Bishop (Macquarie University)

Glenda Wardle (University of Sydney)

Plenary speakers

We have five outstanding plenary speakers:

- <u>Prof. Meg Lowman</u> (Director of Environmental Initiatives, New College of Florida)
 "Down Under at the Top 40 Years of Advances in Forest Canopies"
- <u>Prof. Joel Brown</u> (Univ. Illinois, Chicago)
 "Predator-Prey Foraging Games: Traveling the World in Search of Fear"
- <u>Prof. Jane Lubchenco</u> (Oregon State Univ.)
 "Ecological Science for Sustainable Well-Being"
- Assoc. Prof. John Bruno (Univ. North Carolina)
 "Climate change and coral reef resilience: are we expecting too much from marine reserves?"
- <u>Prof. Rick Shine</u> (Australian Federation Fellow, Univ. Sydney)
 "Cane toads in Australia: biology, impact and control"

ESA08 POSTER SESSION

Poster presenters - alphabetical by first name, with paper ID MONDAY 5.30-7.00 TERRACE LEVEL 4 WENTWORTH

MONDAY 5.30-7.00 TERRACE LEVEL 4 WENTWORTH			
Paper ID	Poster session 13	0=0	14 4 0
	Aaron Greenville		Karen-Ann Gray
	Adrian Davis		Katherine Forsythe
	Amanda Ashton		Katherine Giljohann
	Amber Pares		Lex Cogle
	Andraes Rolhauser		Lisa Smallbone
	Andrew Le Brocque		Luke Collins
	Andrew Smith		Margaret Wheeler
	Annabel Smith		Mark Hamilton
	Brendan Kelaher	_	Martin Breed
	Briony Norton		Megan Batterham
_	Bruce Burns		Megan Wong
	Cath Moran		Melanie Venz
	Catherine Nield		Michelle Ryan
	Celine Steinfeld		Michelle Yates
	Christine Hosking		Miriam Paul
	Christopher Johnstone		Natasha Wiggins
	Christopher Jones		Nerissa Haby
	David Curtis		Nicholas Schultz
	Denise Bunting		Nicole Davies
	Elsa Glanville		Nicole Moore
	Emily Williams		Peter Menkhorst
293	Greg Murdoch	560	Peter Wagner
529	Harpinder Sandhu		Sang-Hoon Lee
478	Helen Stephens	464	Sara Ormond
	Ian Simpson	605	Sarah Butler
172	Isabelle Wolf	505	Sarah Gatenby
460	Jade Adams		Sean Blamires
415	James Bevan	516	Sean FitzGibbon
245	Jarrad Cousin	207	Simon Grove
	Jarrod Kath	500	Stuart Little
	Jasmin Packer	164	Takashi Osono
407	Jennifer Bear	567	Tanya Bailey
494	Jennifer Sanger	481	Tanya Mason
	Jock Mackenzie		Tarnia Hodges
	John Clarke		Tina Law
	Josephine MacHunter	205	Tom Lindstram
486	Karen Johnson	335	Vincent van Uitregt