ICON

About the Conference

ICON first started in 1989 as the IEEE Singapore International Conference on Networks (SICON'89) to provide a biennial forum for the presentation of research in computer networks, communications and distributed systems. To keep pace with the rapid advancement in computer networks and related fields, the IEEE Singapore Computer Chapter decided to hold the conference annually in 1998. The title of SICON was subsequently changed to International Conference on Networks (ICON) in 1999 to better reflect its growing international standing. Appropriately, ICON was held outside Singapore for the first time in 1999 in Brisbane, Australia.

2011 - Singapore 2008 - New Delhi, India 2007 - Adelaide, Australia 2006 - Singapore 2005 - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 2004 - Singapore 2003 - Sydney, Australia 2002 - Singapore 2001 - Bangkok, Thailand 2000 - Singapore 1999 - Brisbane, Australia 1998 - Singapore 1997 - Singapore 1995 - Singapore 1993 - Singapore 1991 - Singapore 1989 - Singapore

Message from the Chairpersons

On behalf of the Organizing Committee, we would like to welcome you to the 17th IEEE International Conference on Networks in Biopolis, Singapore.

ICON has a long established history and is now regarded as one of the premier quality conferences on network research in this region. The inception of this Conference in 1989 was timely owing to an urgency in recognizing international talents in networks and allied research domains and also to provide an opportunity for peer researchers to share their research vision. Since then ICON has become a conducive and attractive platform for researchers in this region. With continuous efforts from all organizing committees in the past, ICON now proudly completes its 17th round! Due to several administrative constraints ICON took a break in the last two years and has now come back with a bang in reconnecting with the network world! This year's Conference received 143 submissions from 39 countries. After a rigorous review process 45% of the papers met the quality standards set by the Technical Program Committee. The conference hosts two keynote speeches from well-established researchers, from academia and industry, in the networking domain – Professor Carl Kesselman, Industrial and Systems Engineering, USC, USA and A/Professor Francis Bu-Sung Lee, Director (Research), HP Labs, Singapore.

This Conference is only possible with the active support of all stakeholders. First we thank the organizers, the IEEE Singapore Computer Chapter and the Institute for Infocomm Research (I^2R). We thank the Honorary Chairs for their advice and support. We thank the members of the Technical Program Committee and reviewers for their time and effort in conscientiously reviewing the papers. We are grateful to all the authors who submitted their work to this Conference and thus made this Conference possible. Our sincere thanks to all our colleagues and helpers for their dedication, hard work and time – without them it would not be possible to put together this event.

Finally, a BIG thank you to all of you at this Conference! This conference would not be possible without presenters and delegates. We truly hope that this ICON platform provides ample opportunities for you to interact with international researchers, share your insights and generate new challenging questions. We hope ICON continues to be a unique event bringing together our networking colleagues with a passion towards pushing forward the frontiers of knowledge and practice in networking research.

A/Professor Bharadwaj Veeravalli, Dept of ECE, NUS, Singapore Professor Ian Foster, Computation Institute, Argonne National Lab, IL, USA

Organizing Committee

Honorary Chairs Kin-Mun Lye, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore Kee-Chaing Chua, National University of Singapore, Singapore Chang-Wen Chen, University of Buffalo, USA

Conference Co-Chairs Bharadwaj Veeravalli, National University of Singapore, Singapore Ian T. Foster, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Technical Program Co-Chairs Jo-Yew Tham, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore Jaya Shankar P, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore Sajal K. Das, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Conference Secretary Chern-Nam Yap, Temasek Polytechnic, Singapore

Workshop Chair Yu Ge, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore

Tutorial Co-Chairs Wee-Seng Soh, National University of Singapore, Singapore Xu Shao, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore

Publicity Co-Chairs Andreas Mauthe, Lancaster University, UK Fan Zhai, Texas Instruments Inc., USA Jin Li, Microsoft Research, USA

Finance Chair Lee-Yee Lau, Singapore Polytechnic, Singapore

Publication Chair Yongwei Zhu, Institute for Infocomm Research, Singapore

Local Arrangements Chair Khin-Choong Chan, Ngee Ann Polytechnic, Singapore